The Lion of God: Errata

Of course I am re-reading the book, now it’s been published, and of course I have found a couple of bone-headed errors.

Using Kindle page numbers (which are not the same as the page numbers in the manuscript:

Location
As published
Correction
Time Will Tell, Page 22 “… I didn’t go back to school until … hmm … until, well, 1986.” 1996.  His Timeline 1 counterpart went in 1986, when he left the service.  In 1986, Timeline 0 Wolff was still in the Marines.

I think this was a late change when I was trying to reconcile timeline events, and the change to the timeline document just didn’t make it into the book.

Chapter 5, Page 115 Wolff was a little taken aback.  “Reserve commission or not, I’m smart enough to know I got out as a shot-up E-7 who’d been bucking for First Sergeant, and that was forty years ago.” It was fifty years (fifty-one, to be precise).
Chapter 8, Page 167 He shook his head, clearing it of the forty-year old memories he didn’t need to deal with, right now. Same as above.  Fifty, not forty.
Chapter 13, Page 235 “Look, Commodore, I haven’t been an officer very long, but forty years of civilian life…” Same as above.  Fifty, not forty.

Apparently I can’t subtract 1993 from 2044 very well.

These fixes will be in an update at some point.  Table will be added to as I find more things to fix.

There are those who say the cover is everything.

At long last it looks like I have a cover…thanks to my DAZ3D mentor and friend from ancient times*, Geoff Edwards, who worked out how the words needed to go on the art he’d advised me on.

There are a couple of things left to do in the text, but I’m hopeful of a release by the end of the month.

Meanwhile, the short story mentioned in the previous post has been honed and the cover is being worked on…and the second novel has been started.

________________

* Freshman year in high school.  We had the same drafting class.  You know, mechanical drawing, with T-squares and triangles and cool mechanical pencils, back before AutoCad.  Damnit, Jim, I’m an engineer, not a graphic artist.

Another short in draft

I have another short story in draft, started it last Thursday, finished the first draft just a few minutes ago after work.  It’s a Timelines story, really a prequel, intended to provide backstory for The Lion of God, and it’s called “The Reason”.  It will follow the release of The Lion of God, which will happen either later this month or some time in July, depending on whether I decide to wait for the new graphics computer to be delivered, or not.

Anyway, “The Reason” is another 11,790 word long short story like “Saving The Spring” (which was over 10,000 words).  Apparently I don’t know how to write a standard short story.  On the other hand, it isn’t edited yet.

The likelihood is that I will put it on Amazon for 99 cents, or read for free on KU.  But again, it will go up after The Lion of God.

Cover deSigh

Yes, the title is not a misprint.  SIGH.  I have a mentor who keeps kicking my butt about design.  The cover art I’ve been doing for The Lion of God is in DAZ 3D Studio, and our discussions have been … complicated 🙂  Worse, the more involved the cover vignette has been getting, the more it’s become clear that I need to drop $BIGCOIN on a machine that will actually do the render (and take less than 8 hours to get only part-way through before DAZ stops rendering…yeah, I know, I can set that higher, but I have to use this computer to make real money at my day job).

So anyway, this is where we are with the cover.  Ariela’s face has changed a little, as I stopped fighting with Genesis 8 female characters* and redesigned her as a Genesis 3 female.  This necessitated a change of hair, but I’m happy with it.

The cover…maybe?

The lighting has improved, the three US Space Force Marines who are actually on this recon mission with her are all in the frame now, and she has that fetching maroon beret which still needs to be properly adjusted for size.  Everybody’s feet are at floor level.  I’m playing with adding unit insignia to the Marines’ shoulders in place of that stylized “7” with crossed daggers.  Ari’s jacket may get a caduceus on the left breast (she’s an MD/PHD).

I told my mentor that Ari now looks like a Queen Bitch with her Wolves checking and protecting her perimeter.  Or a Queen Lioness with her Lions ditto.  Depends on how you want to look at it.

The title font is acceptable to me (whether or not it’s acceptable to my mentor is still in the air, but I’m just playing with the design at this point).

The book itself is done, though I probably need to have someone else look at it, and my wife is definitely not interested this time 🙂  Well, I have some other folks I can line up for that.  If I were to hazard a guess, the book will be out around the end of June if I don’t wait for the new computer to generate the cover, or sometime in late July if I do.

_________________

* Which purely suck after you work with them for a while.  Any changes you try to make end up taking a minute or two to register, and don’t even try to move her unless you know EXACTLY where she’s going.  My mentor says the same and says he’s sticking with G3 until they get G8 right.

Saving the Spring, a short fantasy

I’ve just set up the RSS feed from my author blog to my Amazon author page, so this post is to “activate” it, as it were.

I’ve been pleasantly surprised (and somewhat dumbstruck, to be honest) at the reviews and comments received about this little story. It was literally a dream, subsequently written down on paper (or the electronic equivalent thereof). It gave me a break from the novel I’m finishing up, which has absolutely nothing to do with Saving the Spring, and got me re-focused on getting that done.

I’m not sure I have more fantasy like this in me, but if I have another dream like that, it’ll certainly be written down.

Thanks to all who greeted my publishing debut with such lovely sentiments.  They were and are greatly appreciated.

I’ll try to keep up the good work and get you a science fiction novel in June.  It will be titled The Lion of God and it’s…hard to characterize.  Time travel, both linear and sideways, Alcubierre warp drives with singularity generators based on a broken 6-meter ham radio amplifier, six frigates (those with a good knowledge of American naval history will appreciate this), a man with two wives (not really) and a daughter who isn’t technically his (really).  Surprises all along the way.  Even for me — and I wrote it.

Bump: Saving The Spring, A Short Fantasy

Just bumping this a bit.  Well, fresh post, but bump. 🙂

There is one review which in the spirit of full disclosure is from a friend, a local writer and blogger with five award-winning books to her credit, but she has raved about it and says her husband loved it too.  She says,

Fans of Alma T.C. Boykin and Tom Rogneby will love this short story. It begins as a road trip with a couple of middle-aged snowbirds (well-armed ones) and turns into a fight for life, honor, and the immortal love of a lady as old as time. The plot is delightfully clever, the action fast and furious and you will love the main characters as they forge a new destiny.

If you’d like to take a chance for 99 cents (or read for free on Kindle Unlimited), I hope you enjoy my little story.  At this very moment it is ranked:

If you read it and like it, please give it a rating, and reviews are also appreciated.

Only $0.99 to buy, or free to read with Kindle Unlimited.

Direct link

New header and cover art

[Update, 17 May:  This is not going to be the cover.  I had another idea after a graphics-savvy friend kept yelling at me about the disconnect between Ariela and the ship and earth behind her not being visually consistent.  So when I have the other idea worked out, I’ll be updating this again.  Ariela will remain, the background will be different.

Oh, and I know, the titling doesn’t work.  That will also change before publication.]

I decided to take a night off since the characters stopped yelling at me to write them last night.  I’ll be editing next week, but I have another book to read this weekend.

Anyway, I decided I wanted Ariela to look “confident and slightly sexy”, so I went looking for DAZ 3D poses that did that.  Found a set of commercial model poses that could be useful in the future, but specifically I wanted a “crossed arms” pose and that was the featured pose for this set.  Sold! to the gentleman cosplaying George RR Martin in the back of the room.

A little fiddling about with her facial expression and a 3-1/2 hour render, and voila.

Still have some work to do on the titling, but this is much better, and to paraphrase a friend’s comment a while back, she doesn’t look like she’s trying to sing, anymore.

Oh: And just because,

Cover background image via Good Free Photos under the CC0 / Public Domain License.

Spacecraft image Illustration 149643557 © Freestyleimages – Dreamstime.com, used by license

Cover foreground image © Nathan C. Brindle, made with DAZ Studio 4 Pro

IT. IS. DONE.

FINISHED at 2318 13 MAY 2020

CLOCKING IN AT 95,599 WORDS

THE LION OF GOD IS DONE IN FIRST DRAFT.

Now the real work starts.